Going for Gold

As someone who was lucky enough to attend a few events at the London Olympics  in 2012, and again at the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow in 2014, I‘ve developed a keen interest in these major multi sport games.

So I’m currently enjoying the BBC’s extensive, and for the most part rather good, coverage of the 2016 Olympics in Rio. My main gripe is that the time difference, coupled with the scheduling of some events to coincide with peak TV viewing times in the USA, means that many of the things I would like to see are scheduled for the wee small hours UK time; well past my bedtime I’m afraid.

For example, I had been looking forward to watching Andy Murray win a second tennis Gold on Sunday evening.  Sadly the fact that I had to rise early on Monday morning and do battle with rush hour traffic on the M6 meant that I had to head for bed before the Final has reached the end of the second set.

Major events like the Olympics have a habit of bringing out the best in the BBC and, with a few exceptions, they are doing a fine job in Rio. One or two presenters have made headlines for the wrong reasons, although much of the criticism seems a little unfair to me. Helen Skelton was criticised on social media for wearing a skimpy dress while presenting from the swimming pool. At least she was wearing more than the competitors!

As usual, the BBC are relying on Clare Balding to front much of their coverage. She is unquestionably one of the best sports anchors around and has had an excellent Games so far. But I do wonder if I am alone in thinking that she does sometimes come across a bit too much like a school teacher; a kind of home counties version of Miss Jean Brodie.

Hazel Irvine has also has a good Games and has shown herself to be a safe pair of hands, which is more than can be said for the increasingly gaffe prone John Inverdale.

The only downside of watching all this sport on TV is that it’s been a couple of weeks since I last had the time to go to the gym!

Ends

Leave a Reply

